Laws vary widely from state to state. Some are simple and some are complex. Some, like Illinois, have multiple robbery laws, making it somewhat confusing to the average person. But, when you are charged with robbery or a related crime, you need to know what you are up against.
The robbery laws of Illinois are strict, carrying severe felony penalties if convicted. While this page is intended to provide a general overview of those laws, consulting with a local defense attorney can help you get a clearer picture of the charges and penalties you might be facing given the specific facts of your case.
Illinois Robbery Laws
Robbery is defined under Illinois law as taking property from the presence or immediate possession of another with force or with the threat of force. This means you can be charged and convicted of this very serious crime without ever having touched anyone, merely a threat of force is enough.
Generally, robbery is considered a Class 2 Felony, carrying 3 to 7 years in prison and $25,000 in fines. However, there are exceptions. For instance, if the robbery occurs in a daycare, place of worship or against someone over the age of 60 or handicapped, you will be charged with a Class 1 Felony, and face 4 to 15 years in prison and $25,000 in fines.
Armed robbery is committed, obviously, when you are armed with a firearm. There are a variety of factors that go into determining how this affects your potential sentence. It is classified as a Class X Felony charge and can add a significant number of years to your sentence. You could face an additional 15 years to life in prison.
This offense is defined as: committing a robbery while indicating to the alleged victim that you are armed with a weapon or by drugging them without their consent. It is classified as a Class 1 Felony charge which carries 4 to 15 years in prison.
Carjacking, known as “vehicular hijacking” under Illinois law, is when you rob someone of their vehicle while in their presence. It is considered a Class 1 felony and carries 4 to 15 years in prison.
However, if the victim is over 60 or if you are armed, you will be charged with aggravated carjacking, a Class X felony charge. The penalties for this offense vary considerably but could be up to a life sentence.
When you are up against charges like this, you need someone advocating on your behalf and giving you the support you need. Let us put you in touch with a defense lawyer who can help with a robbery accusation today.