Ohio

When you are accused of a crime like robbery, you stand to lose your freedom and a whole lot more. In addition to carrying severe incarceration penalties, you’ll also face exorbitant fines and the trouble of carrying a label like “convicted felon” for the rest of your life.

While each state has laws against robbery, the specifics of those laws vary greatly. In Ohio, for example, you could be facing some of the more severe penalties when compared with other states.

The outcome of your case, of course, depends on the facts of your case, the evidence against you, your criminal history, and a variety of other factors. But, knowing what you are up against before the gavel falls can help you prepare for the potential outcomes.

Ohio Robbery Laws & Penalties

The crime of robbery is separated by two distinct laws in the Ohio statutes: robbery and aggravated robbery. Within these two distinct laws, more distinctions are made that will determine the exact penalty you might face.

Robbery

The crime of robbery is defined as attempting to commit or committing a theft when you:

  1. Have a deadly weapon under your control,
  2. Inflict harm or threaten to inflict harm on the alleged victim, or
  3. Use force or threaten to use force against the alleged victim.

If you are accused of robbery and it fits the criteria of a: having a weapon, or b: inflicting or threatening harm, you will face second degree felony charges. A conviction for a second degree felony can carry 2 to 8 years in prison.

If, however, you are accused of robbery and you c: use force or threaten to use force, you will face lesser charges of a third degree felony, and the potential 1 to 5 year prison sentence it carries.

Aggravated Robbery

More serious than robbery, aggravated robbery is a first degree felony charge and carries 3 to 10 years in prison and fines reaching $20,000. You may face this charge if you are accused of doing any of the following in the commission of a theft offense:

  1. Have a deadly weapon and use it, display it, or indicate that you have it,
  2. Have explosives or other “dangerous ordnance” in your possession, or
  3. Inflict or attempt to inflict serious physical harm on the alleged victim.

Regardless of which robbery charge you are facing, you will likely want to discuss your options with a local criminal defense attorney. Contact us today to be put in touch with someone that may be able to help.