Arizona

Regardless of where you are charged, robbery is a serious offense. It is a violent crime. But, some states take charges like this far more seriously than others. In the state of Arizona, you will face prison time for your robbery charge.

Robbery isn’t just a theft; it involves an aspect of violence or threat of violence. It’s this that makes judges, prosecutors, and law enforcement treat such suspects with disdain. But regardless of what they think of you and regardless of the facts of your case, you have rights.

The statutes of Arizona have three different classifications for robbery: robbery, armed robbery, and aggravated robbery.

The facts of your case and the evidence that the prosecutor has will determine which charge you face.

Arizona Robbery Laws & Penalties

The penalty you face for a robbery conviction in Arizona depends on the exact charge you are facing.

Robbery

Robbery is defined as the taking of another person’s property against their will with the use of force or the threat of force to coerce them into surrendering the property. Generally, it is a Class 4 felony charge, carrying 18 months to 3 years in prison.

Aggravated Robbery

If you commit robbery, as defined above, and you have one or more accomplices, you could be charged with aggravated robbery. This offense is classified as a Class 3 felony, and carries 2 to 7 years in prison.

Armed Robbery

Armed robbery seems self-explanatory; it is robbery while using a deadly weapon or a simulated deadly weapon (yes, this could be a toy). It is classified as a Class 2 felony and carries 4 to 10 years in prison.

Robbery charges in Arizona carry a presumptive sentence. Somewhere between the minimum possible sentence and the maximum possible sentence is the “presumptive” sentence or the sentence that a judge will go with aside from any mitigating or aggravating factors. With a Class 2 felony like armed robbery, for example, the presumptive sentence is 5 years. If there are circumstances that make the crime particularly bad, that sentence can be increased to up to 10 years.

A local attorney can look at your case and help you determine the likelihood of a prison term and what circumstances a judge would consider at sentencing time given your particular circumstances.

If you are charged with robbery in the state of Arizona, let us put you in touch with a local criminal defense attorney today.